TYDD ST.GILES COUNTY PRIMARY SCHOOL

There has been a school in the village of Tydd St. Giles since 1866 when the first village school was built under the direction of Sir Gilbert Scott, the architect. His brother, Canon John Scott was at that time Rector of the village and was responsible for raising the necessary funds, donating a large part of the money raised personally. Before that a date a class for boys had been held for many years in the village church.

In 1879, as a result of difficulty experienced in raising money for the necessary enlargement of the school, the Church Authorities agreed to lease the buildings to the School Board. The enlarged school served its purpose for many years but it became evident over time that completely new buildings were needed. The Local Education Authority therefore purchased a two acre site to the south of the village and in 1960 appointed Mt Joseph E Mitchell, Dip. Arch., A.R.I.B.A. of March to design and supervise the erection of a new school.

The resultant design is a departure from traditional Primary School planning in several important respects. The hub of the design is the central space to which all the classrooms have direct access. This is large enough for all pupils to meet together for the school's communal purposes. The two classrooms used by the younger children can be completely integrated with this area by opening sliding screens. The classrooms are not rectangular but "T" shaped, to permit flexible class grouping and the wider variety of activities modern teaching techniques require. Each classroom has a good storeroom and is well provided with pin boards and chalkboard areas.

MAIN CONTRACTOR: H.F. Mann, Elm, Cambridgeshire.

Principal Sub-Contractors:

HEATING INSTALLATION

AIRTRED & TILE FLOORING

Messrs. Jack Kirk (Plumbers) Ltd.,

Messrs. S.S. Flooring Services Ltd.,

Wisbech, Cambridgeshire.

Peterborough.

Messrs. F.G.Tassall Ltd..

Littleport, Cambridgeshire.

Messrs. Hall & Co. Ltd.,

Romford, Essex.

SLIDING PARTITION

Messrs. J.Acred & Son, Little Downham, Cambridgeshire.



ISLE OF ELY COUNTY COUNCIL

EDUCATION COMMITTEE



OFFICIAL OPENING

The New Building of

TYDD ST GILES COUNTY PRIMARY SCHOOL

Βy

Christopher Chataway, Esq., M.P.

(Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Education)

MONDAY, 18TH MARCH 1963, at 3.00 p.m.

ISLE OF ELY EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Chairman: COUNTY ALDERMAN T.W.ANTHONY, J.P.

Vice-Chairman: COUNTY ALDERMAN M.PAYNE

County Aldermen:

MRS F.A.BARRETT F.K.OGDEN, ESQ. H.S.POTTS, ESQ. L.CHILDS, ESQ., CBE., D.L., J.A.NORMAN, ESQ. B.G.WRIGHT, ESQ. J.P.

R.G.CURSTON, ESQ., J.P. S.G.YEOMAN, ESQ.

County Councillors:

S.BARRETT, ESQ. CDR. A.F.GRAY, R.N.R. C.N.SEARLE, ESQ. MRS N.E.BEDFORD A.J.GREEN, ESQ. C.SHAW, ESQ. J.H.CRANE, ESQ. W.LEGGETT, ESQ. J.M.SNEESBY, ESQ. C.B.DARBY, ESQ. G.W.OLDROYD, ESQ. H.TASH, ESQ. T.H.ELLINGHAM, ESQ., J.P. MRS B.M. OSBORN, J.P. MISS J.ff.TEBBUTT, J.P.

MRS A.FINBOW G.PARKINSON, ESQ. F.J.TUCKER, ESQ.

N.PAYNE, ESQ

Co-Opted:

C.W.ANDERSON, ESQ., J.P.

J.S.COLLINGWOOD, ESQ., M.C. J.P.

MRS M.S.MARTIN

MRS K.GREEN

MRS F.SMITH

REV. CANON MOWBRAY

SMITH

L.W.FRANCE, ESQ.

D.T.PETCH, ESQ.

MRS V.N.TURNER

Architect: JOSEPH.E.MITCHELL, DIP. ARCH., A.R.I.B.A. Of Associate Design Partnership

Chief Education Officer: T.G.FENWICK. MA., LL.B., Barrister-at-Law

THE MANAGERS OF THE TYDD ST.GILES **COUNTY PRIMARY SCHOOL**

Chairman: MRS A.H.CARTER

County Council Representative Managers:

County Councillor M.H.T.CARTER MRS A.H.CARTER

> E.GATES, ESQ. L.RONEY, ESQ.

Tydd St Giles Parish Council Representative Managers:

E.E.GRAY, ESQ. R.R.SHARPE, ESQ

Headmaster: K.C.BUCKLE

ORDER OF CEREMONY

VOTE OF THANKS TO CHRISTOPHER CHATAWAY, ESQ, M.P. Proposer: MRS A.H.CARTER

PRAYER – The Rev. R.M.McCAUGHEY, M.A. Vicar and Rural Dean of Wisbech

VOTE OF THANKS TO THE CHAIRMAN Proposer: L.RONEY, ESQ.

SCRIPTURE READING - PRAYER - The Rev. R.J. HALL Superintendent Minister, Wisbech Methodist Circuit

THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

ITEM BY PUPILS OF THE SCHOOL

INSPECTION OF PREMISES

INTRODUCTION BY THE CHAIRMAN
County AldermanT.W.Anthony, J.P., Chairman of
The Isle of Ely Education Committee

ADDRESS BY CHRISTOPHER CHATAWAY, ESQ, M.P. Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Education Who will declare the school open